Blog For Mental Health 2013

19Feb13

blogformentalhealth20131winner

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

Check out: Blog For Mental Health 2013 « A Canvas Of The Minds

 

I suffered from severe depression as a child and teen, all the while loving the highs of hypomania, so for a long time I was diagnosed with depression and anxiety. Nearing my late 20’s the hypomania became too much and my moods began to cycle too much and too wildly I was diagnosed with Bipolar Type II. It took me a while to accept this diagnosis, but as time went on it all began to make sense. I am bipolar – this acceptance has made a huge difference in my life and I hope to help others through their journeys.

 

I was pledged by a brilliant blogger, Ruby, at http://mywonderfulabnormalmind.wordpress.com/ Please seek out her writing, it is very, very good.

 

I’d like to pledge five other bloggers:

1)    She is so candid and clever! http://bipolarwitch.wordpress.com

2)    Another man fighting the good fight: http://fishrobber.wordpress.com

3)    An amazing and talented writer: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com

4)    Great creativity and visual presentations: http://redmermaid.wordpress.com

5)    Another explorer in the process: http://siegeofthespirit.com

 

I love the whole community of bloggers that are an enormous inspiration to me. I’ve received some of the kindest words I’ve heard via this blog. I know this is a place for healing. I too am a voice for positivity and I hope to share this with you 🙂

13 Responses to “Blog For Mental Health 2013”

  1. I am honoured to be chosen– thanks so much– this sounds so very worthy

  2. I am really very glad you decided to join in and take the pledge, and not just because you said such amazingly flattering things about me — although that didn’t hurt!

    In all seriousness, opening up about your mental health is a huge step in healing, erasing ignorance and stigma, helping others to open up about theirs, and maybe helping them to start to seek for the help they need. You are doing a wonderful thing with this pledge, and (of course) with this blog.

    Also, for any of your readers who may want to join in, they can find all of the information about the campaign here: Blog For Mental Health 2013 | A Canvas Of The Minds.

    Thanks again for joining with us!

    • Thank you for this opportunity! I really do believe that this community saves lives literally and figuratively. I have been able to understand my mental health problems sooo much better by reading and interacting with other bloggers at various points in their lives. Shared tears, shared laughter, shared presence . . . these are powerful things! This is a great community

  3. I’ve suffered depression, anxiety, bi-polar most of my life. Some days it is crushing. Non opiate based meds have helped but there are two things I have used that have helped me lead a better quality and normal life despite. 1. I know I got it. It is an alien thing that occupies me.The feelings are not real in that I know they are distortions due to mental health imbalances in brain and know this will pass and do not let feelings own me. 2. Just get gal dern stubborn and will not let the bear win this wrestling match he has imposed on me. I follow Dr SJQ’s blog Afriendtoyourself. She is just wonderful in this area of mental health.

  4. Wow! Thank you so much for the honor!!

    Btw – you’re not bipolar. You HAVE bipolar. Remember who you really are! ❤

  5. I just took the pledge myself and I’m now visiting my comrades blogging for mental health.

    I too have Bipolar (and am a father of 4).

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.


  1. 1 pledge-worthy? | Swimming Upstream
  2. 2 Managing hypomania: The best way to learn is to teach | Human In Recovery

Leave a Reply

