Martin Luther King Day

21Jan13

Respect. Peace. Freedom.

the-victors-gym-blog-martin-luther-king-day

These words are easy to throw around – I’ve done it.

But I still know their weight when it counts.

Martin Luther King Jr. was a great man who stood up and spoke against the status quo. He challenged the ‘ways things were’ and dared to dream of something much better. A great man indeed.

“We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

I’ve written on the power and desperate need of forgiveness for myself. MLK got this in such a deeper way. To paraphrase the doctor, to forgive ourselves is one thing, but peace comes when we forgive our enemies also. How powerful.

Martin-Luther-King-Jr-9365086-2-402

As a father, I am always looking for ways to improve my kids upbringing, to wit I am always striving to be a better father. I am reminded today of a quote from MLK about my views on schooling and character

“The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

I hope that my children learn some value of character at school, but I really don’t expect the school to teach it. What I hope is that the children will strengthen their values at school. I’m an active member in their whole learning, not just facts, but heart as well.

6a00d834a6d58653ef01348647f619970c-320wi

 

Rest In Peace Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

MARTIN_LUTHER_KING_JR._PICTURE2

 

2 Responses to “Martin Luther King Day”

  1. He was such a gifted speaker. I am listening to his I have a dream speech right now. More countries should have a Martin Luther Kind day. It’s good to be reminded of his words from time to time. Till then. WordPress 😉

    I like the quote you shared. I am tutor and each time I have to explain to parents that they should not count on the education system alone. That they are their first teachers in their lives.

    I love how sometimes the roles are reversed. One of my students asked why I was wearing make-up. It just seemed so illogical to him and after I tried to explain.. he looked at me and said: but teacher wouldn’t it be easier to wear a mask? Makes perfect sense right! O.o

    • They are brilliant 🙂
      Whenever I try to understand any moral concept, I talk about it with a child. They seem to know how to navigate the borders of an idea


Leave a Reply

