Celebrate This!

14Jan13

“It is better to lead from behind and to put others in front, especially when you celebrate victory when nice things occur. You take the front line when there is danger. Then people will appreciate your leadership.” Nelson Mandela

Such brilliance! I’m in awe of the wisdom and bravery! What a great way to live.

Gargoyle and glasses

I’ve been looking to celebrate lately. In want of a reason, I’ve felt little cheer, but today that ends.

A lot of people will say that you don’t need a reason to celebrate, and I think that individually that is often true (for me anyway), but it’s a whole lot easier when a group can get together for a specific thing. ‘Oh hey, it’s New Years, let’s lift our song, spirit, and hopes for a New Year!’ cheered the World.

As far as I know, there has never been a parade for: ‘Oh hey, the dryer didn’t eat any of my socks!’ (maybe this is because dryers always eat socks?)

Protect the socks from the Dryer Monster!

Protect the socks from the Dryer Monster!

So, in light of all of this, I’ve decided to celebrate the many good things in my life. Setting aside the negative, I am actively choosing to celebrate. My heart may not be entirely in this celebration, but I’m sure (hopefully) that it will join in after I force my body to jump a bit.

May my heart follow my feet

May my heart follow my feet

For all of you, Salut! To your health and merriment.

I love this song! Give it a listen!

 

9 Responses to “Celebrate This!”

  1. “Protect the socks from the Dryer Monster!” this had me in stitches, There has been a sock genocide going on in my house for years. Dryer monsters… cruel bunch I tell you! 😉

  2. Also.. The song is a delight! Thanks for the share!!

    • One of my huge mentors always suggested dance as a good cure for just about everything from depression to social upheaval. I try to listen to his advice, and when I do it usually turns out great 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’re heading in a good direct. And I think there should be a day of celebration about missing socks. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂
      You know, with all the interesting traditions around the world, I wouldn’t be too surprised if there wasn’t some sort of league for lost socks. Everyone could dress up as sock monkeys?!

      • I’d dress up! Let’s make ever third Thursday of February sock day. Wear a sock monkey hat for the day! I bet we’d get lots of looks, and laugh like hell.

      • I love it!!! You might be on to something there! Let’s do it and take pics . . . I’m only half joking here. I can see this becoming something 🙂


  1. 1 Wanting Within, Wanting Without « Bipolar 2 Dad

Leave a Reply

