Mood Disorders Are Confusing For Everyone

19Dec12

The headline for this post is from some picture I saw somewhere out there on the wild, wild, web.

It’s true though –  hence the frustration.

I myself have felt my mood swoop lower and lower in a matter of moments, and within a very short period of time I have found myself frozen in depression. This exact thing happened to me once at a party with friends (I had to get someone to take me home). I was met with a lot of curious looks and well wishing replies, but I couldn’t stop the drop in mood, and I couldn’t blame my friends (or anyone else at the party) for wondering what suddenly happened to this person, who 15 minutes earlier was laughing so loud in the center of the crowd with his stomach that hurt and with tears  coming from his eyes, that now he has turned into a shadow and is rushing out the door?!

Mood disorders are called Disorders because a person’s moods are uncontrolled, or maybe uncontrollable is a better word? The trick (I’m told) is that most of the time there are cues that trigger a mood to move in one direction or another, and so the clever can see these cues coming and dodge them so that their mood is unaffected. Nice and neat, just like that.

happy-sad-twitter-background-620x288

But nothing is ever as neat and clean as we’d like it.

sad-face-wallpapers133951024x768

Mood disorders are confusing to the person with them since their moods can change so rapidly, and so drastically, and so inappropriately that it is very, very, very,scary. I can only imagine what this looks like to the outsider (leave a post, let me know). The confusion only makes the depression worse because a person can feel like they’ve lost some control, or are fearful of the stigma that comes with having a mood disorder.

I’d like to hear from some people who watch this from the outside and how they deal with loved ones during the more extreme times.  You all must be the most patient people in the world (and we people with mood disorders love you)

I’d love to hear from other people with mood disorders and hear how/if they plan for a mood swing.

So . . . there is confusion on both sides of this drama, on stage or in the audience. What to do? Be patient and enjoy the show 

“There are as many nights as days, and the one is just as long as the other in the year’s course. Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness.” – Carl Jung

One Response to “Mood Disorders Are Confusing For Everyone”

  1. Sadly, until recently, not very well. Hopefully in the not-so-distant future, that will change.


Leave a Reply

