Children are the Best Explorers! My Salvation

30Nov12

A quick post before I dash (read: meander slowly) off to try to get my errands run.

This morning I was feeling particularly slow. Slow enough that the draw of my bed seemed too strong, and that I was attached to an invisible anchor that weighed more than my poor beleaguered heart could break itself free from. I was battling negative thoughts and trying to focus on anything other than this anchor attached to my heart, when my daughter appeared with her body overflowing with exuberance; and this freed my heart and I found the will to rise out of my bed and even give a loving smile to my savior*.

I should say that sometimes, the anchor weighs too great, such that even in the presence of these angels*, I am still unable to get out of my shadows. And all the greater my sorrow!

I said this would be a quick post, and so I will leave you with this thought – Children understand mood better than any other person because they are honest about them. As we grow we learn to hide our mood for others in the name of propriety, but then as times goes on, we hide our moods so well, that we can get to a point that we don’t even understand them.

Seek honesty!

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them” ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

A beautiful explorer!

A beautiful explorer!

*Yes, yes, I know the language points to some religious aspects here, but I think we can all set that aside for the point I’m driving at.

3 Responses to “Children are the Best Explorers! My Salvation”

  1. I wish I could like this post more than once. It’s beautiful and I agree.


  1. 1 Wanting Within, Wanting Without « Bipolar 2 Dad

Leave a Reply

